top of page
  • Sara Malo

You were good to me 2022


Unfortunately blogging hasn't been in my cards the entire 2022 year. I had to use my extra time for some bigger life projects that were super important. However, I feel this was a year of success and continued learning. So for that I will reflect.


At the beginning of the year I decided it was time to sell my current home and set out on the search for something more secluded, peaceful and more land. It took a few months to get serious about this decision but once the mind was set it was go time. We were leaving a house that holds a special place in our hearts with memories of special people, a house I started over in but I knew it wasn't the forever home I needed for us. Buying a house to some is a piece of cake but doing this on my own the second time around, working two full-time jobs, supporting the kids schedules and making sure I hike my puppies at least once a day well it was all a big time challenge. But as my son reminds me often we always find a way to get it done. We closed on our new house just last month while I was planning two large work Events and the hustle and bustle of the holidays. While we still have so many projects in the works for the next six months we know we love the spot we chose and it's all been worth it.


It was a strong year of learning from my kids. Notice the word "from" because I believe they are here to teach me and not vice versa. They are constantly making me proud and their street smarts is on point. They are both more wise than most adults I know and they continue to make the important things their priority. They challenge my brain often and are constantly asking why things need to be done the way everyone else does it. We made a collaborative decision here that it doesn't and so we do things our own way. A way most average people wouldn't understand but it's our way and our choice. Not everyone needs to live a set way and so we don't. We choose spontaneous and fun and as long as there is mutual respect we get along great. Being teenagers of a single working traveling Mom is not easy. I don't allow them to use that as blame, instead I show them anything is possible because they see how hard I work to make a good life for us. You don't need to do anything traditional and you can get where you are simply from hard work and being a good person. Oh and I have a new driver in the house. What a whirlwind that is!


We had some amazing family time together which included a dream vacation in Hawaii. I love having the ability to hop on a plane and go places my kids have never been so they experience more than Massachusetts. We loved watching my brother finish another Ironman competition and soaking up sun on Papakōlea Green Sands Beach. Oh and my very good friends; Door Dash and Uber Eats. I seriously need to invest in you two. Thank you for delivering my kids sundae's while I wait out a flight delay.


My career and what I was made to do finally came to fruition where I feel I belong. I work along side some of the best people in the Industry who care about growth. I am doing what I do best making connections and partnerships that allow us all to do business together. My Team, Clients, Vendors and Business Partners have become people I am proud to know. Working with Mike, Grayson, Em and Darren and a Team that has each others back with respect and loyalty is absolutely where I want to be. Our industry also brought two power house women and best friends together and after four years of planning we launched LinkUnite, our invite-only women’s retreat and digital marketing forum that connects women leaders in executive roles. Two successful in-person Events in the books and I have made beautiful friendships for life. Our tribe is as strong as ever and to say I am proud of what Amanda and I are doing with this movement is an understatement. Recently at LinkUnite II Marco Island we asked top level executive women to share their stories on how they got where they are today. WOW...that was the most powerful and emotional two hours I have witnessed in ten years. I am beyond grateful we gave this opportunity to our guests and I realized it wasn't just us that struggled. Amanda and I have plans that are so full of beautiful enriching ideas and I just can't wait to see what we accomplish in 2023. Thank you Universe for bringing us together and letting us pave the way for others.


Alzheimer's has become a big part of my life and to say I hate this disease is an understatement. Talk about an emotional roller coaster that has taught me so much patience. Trying to keep a loved one safe that is confused has made me see life from a different lens. Trying to see the glass half full with this situation I did learn a lot from my attorney and becoming a POA and HCP. I believe a goal for this year is to try and do more work with awareness and fundraising. My heart aches for anyone that deals with this disease and I will continue to pray for a cure.


For my personal agenda, I continue my sunrise hikes which allows me to get out any emotions before my day begins. I started a daily vitamin regiment and for people that know me this is ground breaking. I am religious about taking the Lion Mane Mushroom thanks to my health mentors. I have learned to let go of guilt that has built up inside me over the years. It wasn't a therapy thing I just told myself it was time and followed through. I can only control my own actions and emotions and if you do the right thing well the right thing shows up for you. Forgiveness will be my next big tackle this year. My relationships with several people have changed significantly. Sometimes you think you are on the top scale with people and then you find out they don't see it the same as you. Rather than making that a focus and harping on negativity I choose people who choose me. We are not all on the same path but we can choose the people we walk with. We don't all have the same goals and our kids don't all have the same goals. I will continue to volunteer and show my kids how important it is to give back. At the end of my day if I am proud of what I am putting out in the world as a human and my kids are proud that is all I need.


And so today I enter 2023 with a full heart. I am grateful for the people that give me the opportunity to do what I do especially my Mom, Dad and brothers who make my kids a priority.





394 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page